Book Details

I Can Read logo
Facebook
Connect
Pinterest
Twitter
Search
cart icon
line

View CartMY ACCOUNT

Back to books

Build, Dogs, Build

By James Horvath , Illustrated by James Horvath

“This is a rollicking, energetic read that will pump up kids’ enthusiasm for building.”

“Youngsters who can’t get enough books with pictures of heavy equipment will be attracted to this one.”

“Kids who get starry-eyed over trucks, earth-moving equipment, and construction sites should go gaga over this book, which has a pack of very capable canines scampering around and digging at a construction site.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig

“With its punchy rhymes and Hanna-Barbera panoramas, Dig, Dogs, Dig hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P.D. Eastman’s Go Dog. Go!” Praise for Dig Dogs Dig

“Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site will eagerly dig into illustrator/designer Horvath’s vehicle-centric debut, first in a planned series.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig

“A dozen dogs and one black cat work hard to build a playground in this amusing story that will please kids who love excavators, cranes and dump trucks… The entire construction process is conveyed in an energetic manner that is both entertaining and educational.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig

“Youngsters who can’t get enough books with pictures of heavy equipment will be attracted to this one.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig

Top dog Duke and his crew of construction-worker dogs are ready to knock down an old building and build up a shiny new one. With cranes, bulldozers, dump trucks, and cement mixers all on the job, these busy dogs have a lot to do. Will they finish the new building in time?

Beginning readers will love this I Can Read adventure starring a doggy construction crew! The text and art have been gently adapted from James Horvath’s picture book of the same title. Build, Dogs, Build is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

James Horvath

James Horvath has worked as a designer and illustrator for more than fifteen years. In 2002 he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on his illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has a lot of fun. A lifelong devoted cartoon fan, James Horvath lives with his family on California’s central coast. You can visit him online at www.jamestoons.com.

Illustrated by James Horvath

  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • Format: Paperback
  • On Sale: 11/30/-0001
  • ISBN: 9780062357052
  • ISBN 10: 0062357050
  • ISBN 13: 9780062357052
  • Pages: 32
  • Trimsize: 6.00 x 9.00 in
  • Subcategory:
  • Juvenile Fiction / Readers / Beginner
  • Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Dogs
  • Juvenile Fiction / Transportation / Cars & Trucks

Read an excerpt

alt tag goes here
I Can Read! is a registered trademark of HarperCollins Publishers. Copyright © 2014. 

Privacy Policy      |       Terms of Use      |       www.harpercollinschildrens.com